What is ISO :

ISO originated from the union of two organisations – the ISO (International Federation of the National Standardizing Associations) and the UNSCC (United Nations Standard Coordinating Committee).

In 1946 over 25 countries met at the Institute of Civil Engineers in London to create a new international organisation, where the objective was to ‘facilitate the international coordination and unification of industrial standards’ From this the new organisation ISO began operations in February 1947. The word ISO is derived from the Greek ISOS meaning ‘equal’.

As the International Organization for Standardization would translate differently across different languages it was decided that the short form name for the organisation would be ISO.


What is ISO 9000 & 9001:

ISO 9000 are the several documents of family of ISO standards. But ISO 9001 is the ISO standards that requires the certification.

ISO 9001 is internationally recognized as quality management system.

What is ISO 9001:2015:-

ISO 9001:2015 certification is an integral part of an organization’s (which is recently replaced by ISO 9001:2008) efforts towards the broader aim of sustainable development. The adoption of a quality management system is a strategic decision for an organization to continuously improve their overall performance.

What is ISO 9001:2015 Quality management system:

ISO 9001:2015 Quality Management System (QMS) is internationally recognised as the world’s leading quality
management standard and has been implemented by over 170 countries globally. ISO-9001 implemented, to its full potential and valuable to your organization.

The purpose of the standard is to assist companies in meeting statutory and regulatory requirements relating to
their product while achieving excellence in their customer service and delivery. The standard can be used throughout an organisation to improve the performance or within a particular site, plant or department.

ISO 9001:2015 QMS Key Principles:

ISO 9001 contains eight key principles of quality management do form the fundamental characteristics of quality management system.

  1. Customer focus and customer satisfaction
  2. Leadership
  3. Involvement of People
  4. Process Approach
  5. Systematically approach to management
  6. Continually improvement
  7. Factual approach to decision making
  8. Mutual beneficial supplier relationship

ISO 9001:2015 Benefits to organizations:

Key benefits of ISO

  • Become more cost efficient
  • Increased credibility and competitiveness
  • Lower costs and shorter cycle times through effective use of resources
  • Enhanced customer satisfaction and improved customer loyalty leading to repeat business
  • Increased revenue and market share obtained through flexible and fast responses to market opportunities
  • Integration and alignment of internal processes which will lead to increased productivity and results
  • Consistency in the delivery of your product or service
  • Improved communication, planning and administration processes

Is the ISO 9001 standard for me?

ISO 9001:2015 standard is applicable for all industries, no matter it’s type, size or sector.

What makes ISO 9001:2015 difference from ISO 9001:2008:

  • Identify both external and internal issues. The new ISO 9001 standard now
    requires organizations to identify all issues both within and outside the organization
    that are relevant to its context and that can help to achieve the intended outcomes of
    its management system.
  • Greater emphasis on leadership than management. ISO 9001:2015 certification
    requires management to have direct involvement and ownership of the process and to ensure that the QMS is achieving its intended results and drive continual improvement within the organization. 
  • Focus on organizational planning. This is a new requirement which obliges organizations to identify those risks and opportunities that have the potential to impact (negatively or positively) on the operation and performance of their QMS.
  • Evaluation of resources. Organizations need to take into account both internal and external resource requirements and capabilities to implement, maintain and improve its QMS.
  • Open-communication with customers. There is now a requirement that these processes must include, where relevant, communicating with customers in relation to the handling or treatment of customer property and specific requirements for contingency actions.
  • Identifies the ‘what’ ‘how’ and ‘when’ of the monitoring and measurement. ISO 9001:2015 certification now requires organizations to monitor information relating to the degree to which their needs and expectations have been fulfilled.
  • Improvement. An additional requirement for organizations to address is the ‘consequences’ of nonconformities, which is recognition that not all of its processes and/or activities will represent the same level of risk in terms of the organization’s ability to meet its objectives.

Certification Bodies in The World:

Company Name Country Version of ISO/IEC 20000
ABS Quality Evaluations Inc Spain 2011
AFNOR Certification France 2011
ALCUMUS ISOQAR Ltd United Kingdom 2011
APCER – Associação Portuguesa de Certificação Portugal 2011
BCC, Inc China 2011
British Standards Institution United Kingdom 2011
Brixton Assessment Services United Kingdom 2011
Bureau Veritas Certification Holding SAS France 2011
CEPREI Certification Body China 2011
Certification Europe Ltd Ireland 2011
China Certification Center Inc (CCCI) China 2011
CIS – Certification & Information Security Services GmbH Austria 2011
CQS Czech Republic 2011
Denetik International Certification Turkey 2011
DNV-GL Business Assurance UK Limited United Kingdom 2011
DQS GmbH Germany 2011
DQS Inc. United States 2011
EIC – Empresa Internacional de Certificação Portugal 2011
Fundação Carlos Alberto Vanzolini Brazil 2011
Hong Kong Quality Assurance Agency Hong Kong 2011
International Global Certifications SA Panama 2011
International Standards Certifications (Global) FZ LLC United Arab Emirates 2011
Intertek India Pvt Limited India 2011
Japan Quality Assurance Organization Japan 2011
J-Vac Co Ltd Japan 2011
Korean Foundation for Quality (KFQ) South Korea 2011
Lloyd’s Register Quality Assurance (LRQA) United Kingdom 2011
Marzban Keifiat Ltd Iran 2011
National Quality Assurance (NQA) United States 2011
Normalización y Certificación Electrónica S.C. Mexico 2011
RINA S.p.A. Italy 2011
SGS Hong Kong Limited Hong Kong 2011
SGS ICS Iberica S.A. Spain 2011
SGS Taiwan Limited. Taiwan 2011
SGS United Kingdom Limited United Kingdom 2011
SIRIM QAS International SDN BHD Malaysia 2011
SRI Quality System Registrar United States 2011
TCIC Ltd Canada 2011
TÜV Austria Hellas Greece 2011
TÜV Nord Cert GmbH Germany 2011
TUV Rheinland (India) Pvt India 2011
TUV SUD PSB PTE LTD Singapore 2011
Vincotte International SK&CZ s.r.o Slovakia 2011



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here